Virgil

I’m peeking to the next circle, there is fire everywhere.

“What is this place?” I murmured.

“Hell”, he said.

“I don’t believe in hell”, I said. “Heaven and hell are just a matter of conception. I don’t believe in such things, not anymore”.

“Yes, you should”, he said. “You are in hell”.

“So this is hell?” I questioned him. “If hell is on earth, then what is the afterlife?”

He is quiet, such a stupid man. I stepped forward.

“Where are you going?” he asked me.

“You think? I’m going forward”, I answered.

“Don’t”, he said.

“Why?”

“Because you are mine”.

“Who said that I’m yours? I’m a free soul”.

“No, you’re not. You belong to me”.

“Bullshit,… I don’t belong to you, Virgil. Not anymore”.

“Don’t do this to me!”

“Do what?”

“Stay here with me and accompany me. This is our home”.

“No, it isn’t. This is your home, not mine”.

There was silence.

“Virgil, you suppose to take me to that fake paradise. But as far as I can see, this is only a vicious circle. I see no heaven. And this isn’t hell either. You just brought anyone to get caught in your vicious circle to accompany you, as many as you can get. That’s just simply what you are”.

“So you’re gonna go find another Virgil to replace me?”

“No. I need no Virgil. I have myself… And my Lord…”

“So, you’re gonna leave me here?”

“You could have leave this place yourself. But you just won’t do that. It’s just simply you”.

“And you’re gonna leave me here…”

“Yeah, because it’s just simply me,” I said. “Bye.. bye.. Virgil,.. I’m quite sure I still gonna hear you sound. It’s just who you are. But at that time,.. it’ll be being-qua-being”.

He is silent. And I finally set myself free.

-May.2012-

About diesluminous

fascinated by the light, fell in love with the darkness View all posts by diesluminous

Leave a Reply

